Home Medical field Stanford’s Madison Brunette Named Pac-12 Women’s Gymnastics Athlete of the Year

Stanford’s Madison Brunette Named Pac-12 Women’s Gymnastics Athlete of the Year


SAN FRANCISCO – Stanford Senior Madison Brown was named the 2022 Pac-12 Women’s Gymnastics Athlete of the Year, the conference office announced today. The award, which is given in each of the 24 Pac-12 sponsored sports, was created to honor collegiate student-athletes who excel both academically and in their sport.

A pre-medical biology graduate from Seattle, Brunette is on her way to earning her undergraduate degree while maintaining a 3.83 grade point average. A two-time WCGA Scholastic All-American (2020-21) and 2021 Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll recipient, she has an MCAT score of 518 and boasts career scores of 9.825 on vault and 9.875 on bars and floor. Brunette is the second Cardinal to earn Pac-12 Women’s Gymnastics Athlete of the Year honors (Carly Janiga2010).

On campus, she spends time as a research assistant, where she performs experiments examining the effects of lactate kinetics and thermoregulation on human performance; dictate protocols and organize test schedules; and clean, reformat and structure raw data into numbers. She also conducts literature searches to better inform and guide laboratory investigations and attends and presents at weekly journal club meetings.

Brunette is a member of Athletes in Medicine at Stanford (AIMS), which supports student-athletes in the medical field by fostering an intimate community of current and former Stanford medical student-athletes, and is also involved in Partners for Academic Excellence (PAE), where she leads a weekly section of first-year student-athletes to help them both integrate into the student-athlete community and create meaningful relationships to develop a campus identity at the beyond the realm of athletics.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to graduate, have a GPA of 3.0 or higher , participate in at least 50% of the competitions scheduled in the sport and have at least one year of residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution can nominate one person per sport, and winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the end of each sport’s regular season. The sports achievements of the nominees are taken into account in the voting for the award.

Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named in each of the 24 Pac-12 sponsored sports: Baseball, Men’s Basketball, Women’s Basketball, Beach Volleyball, Men’s Cross Country, Women’s Cross Country, Soccer, Men’s Golf, Golf women’s, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming and diving, women’s swimming and diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track and field, women’s track and field, women’s volleyball and wrestling. The award was first established in the 2007-2008 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Amara Cunningham, Washington; Madi Dagen, Oregon State; MacKinzie Kane, Ariz.; Samantha Sakti, UCLA; Nina Schank, California; Sydney Soloski, Utah; Megan Thompson, Arizona State.